A dinner for two

A few Fridays back, as the end of the day approached, commencing the start of my weekend, my mind was already lost in the windy streets and lively sectors I was about to discover, while my body was held captive in my office; stuck behind the windows and positioned next to the whiteboard. I wanted to do some exploring of the truly enormous city of Seoul. Having established some definite favorite areas, Insadong, Hondae, Itaewon, to name a few, I felt I was neglecting the indubitably yet to be discovered favorites. So, when four forty came around, camera in tow, I boarded the train bound for Incheon and sat down. I figured the best way to go about this endeavor was to just choose a random station to get off at. So that’s what I did.

After emerging from the subway, I took a second to get my bearings, and took off. I stumbled upon a profusion of little stores and outdoor vendors. The vendors had their goods laid out on plastic sheets trying eagerly to entice me. I walked among a maze of open store fronts advertising fabrics, rugs, locks and keys, and tailoring services. The streets were quite deserted and I felt like someone on display as I walked by each store, catching the attention of the one or two employes in each. Their eyes pulled away from the tv show they were watching to pass the time and lingered on me until I was no longer in their sight. I slowly meandered, taking in everything, until my gaze was shifted upwards. Up on a hill, I noticed a temple almost at the same time as  the sound of ringing  temple bells and a few ever so distant  chants met my ears. And so my direction changed, and up the hill I went.

Upon reaching the huge doors, which I swung open with a creak, a buddhist nun was standing there to welcome me, almost as if she saw me coming. “You want tour?” she asked with a smile. “Please wait ten minute,” she said as she descended a flight of stairs. I  was in the middle of snapping of shot of the beautifully painted temple when I heard some of the best english since arriving here. I looked to my left and was introduced to a monk. He said he would be more than happy to show me around the small temple. While I have been to countless temples since arriving to Korea, this was the first time I had someone to explain things to me. He was fantastically knowledgeable and friendly. As we came to the end, and I was preparing to leave, already more than pleased, he shyly asked me if perhaps I would join him for dinner.  So we went into the temple’s humble kitchen and filled our plates. What ensued was one of the most interesting conversations I have ever had. I began by asking him how he learned english so well. Turns out he was a philosophy professor and spent three years living and working in MIchigan. As a child, it was his dream to become a buddhist monk. But somewhere along the way, he forgot this dream and pursued other passions. About five years ago, the dream  resurfaced and he realized the deep need to find his true self before dying. So, there he sat. I had many questions and he an abundance of wise words. I was mesmerized. The immensity of the opportunity I was having was overwhelming. I could have sat their all night, but unfortunately duty called and he had work to do. So as we said our goodbyes and I made my way out of the temple, I couldn’t help but smile. Sitting in my office that afternoon, I had no idea where that Friday night would take me. But an evening spent talking with a monk and sharing a meal together,  far surpassed any of my expectations.

About hannahjacobs

I have incessantly resisted the notion of starting my own blog. I, for one, am foolishly technologically challenged, and two, would just plain prefer to have a face to face conversation about my life encounters. However, after fully realizing how time-consuming it is to sit down and write ten personalized emails as opposed to one blogpost, I have finally succumbed to the practicalities a blog offers. So, have a little patience, be willing to overlook my inevitable technical difficulties, stay in touch...and away we go!!
This entry was posted in At your leisure. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A dinner for two

  1. I do hope you can have another meal and conversation with him. Sounds wonderful!

  2. Devin says:

    That is amazing Hannah. You are going to have enough stories to share for the next 100 years.

Leave a comment